Well Being

Guinness Is Not Vegan-Friendly, But These Beers Are

By  | 

guinness is not vegan

Guinness isn't just the official beer of St. Patrick's Day–it's also great in recipes, has a rich history, and is one of the most successful selling beers of all time. But it's also (for the most part) made with isinglass, which is a fish byproduct, and makes the heady brew unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans. If you're treating yourself to a glass of ale tomorrow night, opt for one of the ones on our festive vegan Irish beer list.

In moderation (that is, not binge-drinking, which is terrible for you), beer is a pretty great way to celebrate, even if you're not Irish, or not a huge fan of St. Patrick, who was not actually and also kind of a jerk. But if you don't eat animals or animal products, it can be tough to know which brews are within your dietary confines, and which are made with fish products, or are filtered through either bone ash or, like Guinness, isinglass–especially since labeling of ingredients when it comes to liquor and beer is so unregulated. So what can you get down with?

Enter Barnivore, the handiest site for drinkin' vegans. An index of responses from companies, clarifying their ingredients and veg status.

Here are some great vegetarian and vegan beer choices, courtesy of Barnivore, for you to celebrate with on St. Patrick's Day (or any day). They're not all made IN Ireland–some are just Irish in style or in recipe–but they should all help get you in a good state. And if you've got a favorite, be sure to share it in the comments. The more the merrier. Sláinte!**

 

**Which roughly translates to “health!” And that's what we're all about, right?

Image: Guinness

comments