Music Artists Get NAACP Image Award Nominations

By  | 


Today, the nominations for the 41st NAACP Image Awards were announced and there were many notable nominations to get excited about.

The awards celebrate outstanding work by people of color in a number of different entertainment categories. We won't know the winners until the show airs on FOX on Friday February 6, 2010. I'll let you know more as the air date approaches.

There are some exciting new artists among the nominations this year and some surprising missing names. all in all, it's a great group of nominations.

Here is the nomination this year and the categories for the nominations:

Outstanding New Artist

  • Jeremih (Def Jam)
  • Keri Hilson (Mosley Music Group/Zone 4 Inc/Interscope Records)
  • K'Jon (Universal Republic Records)
  • Kristinia DeBarge (Def Jam)
  • Melanie Fiona (SRC/Universal/Motown)

Outstanding Male Artist

  • Anthony Hamilton (SoSo Def/Jive Records)
  • Charlie Wilson (Jive Label Group)
  • Jay-Z (Atlantic Records)
  • Maxwell (Columbia Records)
  • Ne-Yo (Def Jam)

Outstanding Female Artist

  • Alicia Keys (Columbia Records)
  • India.Arie (Universal Republic Records)
  • Mary J. Blige (Matriarch/Geffen)
  • Rihanna (Def Jam)
  • Whitney Houston (Artista Records)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration

  • 3 Mo' Divas (MariMo' Music Inc.)
  • The Black Eyed Peas (Interscope Records)
  • Day26 (Bad Boy Records)
  • Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys (Atlantic Records)
  • Jay-Z ft. Rihanna & Kanye West (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Jazz Album

  • “Detroit” – Gerald Wilson Orchestra (Mack Avenue Records)
  • “He and She” – Wynton Marsalis (Blue Note Records)
  • “Kind of Brown” – Christian McBride & Inside Straight (Mack Avenue Records)
  • “Poetically Justified” – Marcus Johnson (Three Keys Music)
  • “The Real Thing” – Vanessa Williams (Concord Records)

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)

  • “A City Called Heaven” – Shirley Caesar (Light Records)
  • “How I Got Over” – Vickie Winans (Destiny Joy)
  • “Love Unstoppable” – Fred Hammond (Verity Records)
  • “Still” – BeBe & CeCe Winans (B & C Records)
  • “We Are All One: Live In Detroit” – Donnie McClurkin (Verity Records)

Outstanding World Music Album

  • “11:11” – Rodrigo y Gabriela (ATO Records/Red)
  • “Black President” – Sila and the Afrofunk Experience (Visila Records)
  • “Morabeza” – Maria de Barros (Sheer Legacy [Sheer Group South African Label])
  • “ReCreation” – Zap Mama (Heads Up International/Concord Music Group)
  • “Seya” – Oumou Sangare (Nonesuch/World Circuit)

Outstanding Music Video

  • “Blame It” – Jamie Foxx ft. T-Pain (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
  • “Boom Boom Pow” – The Black Eyed Peas (Interscope Records)
  • “I Look To You” – Whitney Houston (Arista)
  • “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
  • “Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart” – Alicia Keys (J Records/MBK Entertainment)

Outstanding Song

  • “Bad Habits” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
  • “Blame It” – Jamie Foxx ft. T-Pain (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
  • “Empire State of Mind” – Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys (Atlantic Records)
  • “God In Me” – Mary Mary (Columbia Records)
  • “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Album

  • “The Blueprint 3” – Jay-Z (Atlantic Records)
  • “BLACKsummers'night” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
  • “The Element of Freedom” – Alicia Keys (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
  • “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” – Mariah Carey (Def Jam)
  • “Stronger With Each Tear” – Mary J. Blige (Matriarch/Geffen)

Congratulations to them all for their nominations!